The Access Massachusetts bill requests that M.G.L. Chapter 46 Section 2B be amended by striking the highlighted language that denies access to original birth certificates to adopted persons born between July 17, 1974 and December 31, 2007.


Upon written application, which shall include proof of identity and payment of applicable fees, by an adopted person 18 years of age or older who was born in the commonwealth on or before July 17, 1974 or on or after January 1, 2008 or by an adoptive parent of an adopted person under 18 years of age and born in the commonwealth on or after January 1, 2008, the state registrar shall:

(a) make available for inspection at the offices of the state registry the birth certificate prior to adoption which indicated the prior legal parent or parents listed on the initial birth certificate or if there has been more than 1 adoption, the birth certificate prior to the first adoption which indicates the parent or parents listed on the birth certificate prior to adoption. 


(b) send by certified mail return receipt to the adopted person age 18 or older or to the parents of an adopted person under 18 years of age a photocopy of the contents of the birth record with the following notation on it: “The contents of this birth record are being released under section 2B of chapter 46 of the Massachusetts General Laws or under a court order. This record was amended by adoption. This is not a certified copy of a birth record.”


Legislative Sponsors and Co-sponsors




Representative Sean Garballey, 23rd Middlesex

Representative Daniel Cullinane, 12th Suffolk

Senator Anne M. Gobi, Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire & Middlesex

Representative Kate Hogan, 3rd Middlesex

Representative Louis L. Kafka, 8th Norfolk

Senator Dean A. Tran, Worcester and Middlesex

Representative David Paul Linsky, 5th Middlesex

Representative Tommy Vitolo, 15th Norfolk

Representative Tram T. Nguyen, 18th Essex

Representative Ruth B. Balser, 12th Middlesex

Representative Brian M. Ashe, 2nd Hampden

Representative Jonathan Hecht, 29th Middlesex

Representative Maria Duaime Robinson, 6th Middlesex

Representative Kimberly N. Ferguson, 1st Worcester

Representative Josh S. Cutler, 6th Plymouth

Representative Steven Ultrino, 33rd Middlesex

Representative Lindsay N. Sabadosa, 1st Hampshire

Representative David Allen Robertson, 19th Middlesex

Representative Joseph D. McKenna, 18th Worcester

Representative Hannah Kane, 11th Worcester

Representative Kenneth I. Gordon, 21st Middlesex

Representative Thomas M. Stanley, 9th Middlesex

Senator Bruce E. Tarr, First Essex and Middlesex

Representative Shaunna L. O'Connell, 3rd Bristol

Representative Steven S. Howitt, 4th Bristol

Representative Daniel R. Carey, 2nd Hampshire

Representative Denise Provost, 27th Middlesex

Representative Jeffrey N. Roy, 10th Norfolk

Representative John C. Velis, 4th Hampden

Representative Marjorie C. Decker, 25th Middlesex

Representative Donald R. Berthiaume, Jr., 5th Worcester

Representative Bradley H. Jones, Jr., 20th Middlesex

Representative Susan Williams Gifford, 2nd Plymouth

Representative Natalie M. Higgins, 4th Worcester

Representative Paul McMurtry, 11th Norfolk

Representative Smitty Pignatelli, 4th Berkshire

Representative Susannah M. Whipps, 2nd Franklin

Senator James B. Eldridge, Middlesex and Worcester

Representative Angelo L. D'Emilia, 8th Plymouth

Representative David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf, 17th Worcester

Representative Kay Khan, 11th Middlesex

Representative Brian W. Murray, 10th Worcester

Representative Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr., 28th Middlesex

Representative David M. Rogers, 24th Middlesex

Representative Carole A. Fiola, 6th Bristol

Representative Daniel J. Hunt, 13th Suffolk

Senator Joanne M. Comerford, Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester

Senator Sal N. DiDomenico, Middlesex and Suffolk

Senator Joan B. Lovely, Second Essex

Senator Rebecca L. Rausch, Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex

Representative Jack Patrick Lewis, 7th Middlesex

2015 - 2016

Senator Jamie Eldridge, Middlesex and Worcester

Representative Sean Garballey, 23rd Middlesex

Representative Kate Hogan, 3rd Middlesex

Senator William Brownsberger, Second Suffolk and Middlesex

Representative Aaron Vega, 5th Hampden

Representative Daniel J. Hunt, 13th Suffolk

Representative Jonathan Hecht, 29th Middlesex

Representative John J. Lawn, Jr., 10th Middlesex

Representative Jennifer Benson, 37th Middlesex

Representative Kenneth I. Gordon, 21st Middlesex

Representative Kevin G. Honan, 17th Suffolk

Senator Richard J. Ross, Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex

Senator Barbara L'Italien, Second Essex and Middlesex

Representative Joseph McKenna, 18th Worcester

Representative David Linsky, 5th Middlesex

Representative John C. Velis, 4th Hampden

Senator Michael D. Brady, Second Plymouth and Bristol

Representative Thomas M. Stanley, 9th Middlesex

Representative Danielle W. Gregoire, 4th Middlesex

Senator Anne M. Gobi, Worcester, Hamden, Hampshire and Middlesex

Senator Sal N. DiDomenico, Middlesex and Suffolk

Representative James M. Cantwell, 4th Plymouth

Representative Kay Khan, 11th Middlesex

Representative Bradley H. Jones, Jr., 20th Middlesex

Representative Denise Provost, 27th Middlesex

Senator Michael F. Rush, Norfolk and Suffolk

Representative Steven Ultrino, 33rd Middlesex

Representative Byron Rushing, 9th Suffolk

Representative Susan Williams Gifford, 2nd Plymouth 

Senator Joan B. Lovely, Second Essex

Representative Paul R. Heroux, 2nd Bristol

Representative Louis L. Kafka, 8th Norfolk

Representative Elizabeth Malia, 11th Suffolk

Senator Eric P. Lesser, First Hamden and Hampshire

James R. Miceli 19th Middlesex

Marjorie C. Decker 25th Middlesex

John H. Rogers 12th Norfolk

Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr. 28th Middlesex

RoseLee Vincent 16th Suffolk

Kimberly N. Ferguson 1st Worcester

Daniel Cullinane 12th Suffolk

Daniel Cahill 10th Essex

Angelo L. D'Emilia 8th Plymouth

Brian Murray 10th Worcester

James J. O'Day 14th Worcester

Ruth B. Balser 12th Middlesex

Carolyn C. Dykema 8th Middlesex

Mary S. Keefe 15th Worcester

Hannah Kane 11th Worcester

Shaunna L. O'Connell 3rd Bristol

Patricia D. Jehlen Second Middlesex

Tricia Farley-Bouvier 3rd Berkshire

Elizabeth A. Poirier 14th Bristol

Aaron Michlewitz 3rd Suffolk

William Crocker 2nd Barnstable

Russell E. Holmes 6th Suffolk

Representative Juana Matias 16th Essex


Contact your legislators - Letter Template

Grace Hilliard-Koshinsky has developed a template for writing to Massachusetts State Representatives and/or Senators to urge them to co-sponsor An Act granting equal access to original birth certificates to all adopted persons born in Massachusetts.

Download the template here.   Grace's template includes standard language, and sections in red that you should replace to personalize.  

Find legislator contact info here: https://malegislature.gov/Search/FindMyLegislator 


 Access Massachusetts
Get Social with us!

Please like  us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.  Help us spread the word about Access Massachusetts!

  • s-facebook
  • Twitter Metallic
Share your thoughts!


© 2014, 2017 by Access Massachusetts. Proudly created with Wix.com